Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

FangirlWIP

Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Pages: 461 (paperback)
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Buy:Fangirl

five-starsfive-starsfive-starsfive-stars

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life.

Without Wren Cath is completely on her own and totally outside her comfort zone. She’s got a surly room-mate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible . . .

I didn’t realise how much I enjoyed this book until I finished it! It was scary how much i could relate to Cath; We are both the socially awkward and less cool twin, we both spend way too much time reading or on the internet/ blog and did I mention socially awkward?
I especially appreciated this book because I was reading from a twins perspective, Rainbow Rowell clearly acknowledges the pros and cons to twinship. I found it extremely heart breaking when Cath and Wren became distant and I felt Cath’s pain when Wren was moving on without her and becoming more independent. It shocked me how they weren’t on speaking terms for months!  I couldn’t go a week without speaking to Sophie (My Wren). I was nice to see them happy and back to their old selves together at the end of the book.

Rainbow Rowell has a talent for creating relationships and the secondary characters themselves, which is rare for me because I usually find the secondary characters quite pointless and dull. I absolutely loved Reagan and her sarcasm, I also loved that she quite obviously cares about Cath but tries to hide it (not too well). Her dad was also a character I found extremely interesting, he loves his daughters but he seems a bit lost in the world and when the girls go to college he really struggles. But he’s also a funny character and he has a strong bond with Cath. I didn’t like Nick, can’t say why because that would be a spoiler. I just do not like him, he angers me. Grrr.

Now, “Levi and his Ten Thousand smiles…”
Levi is the perfect example of a sensitive, loving boyfriend who is unconditionally supportive, funny, and a gentleman. He is the definition of a good boyfriend. I don’t know what else I can say about Levi, other than he is perfect and he is so sweet with Cath. *Swoon*

I won’t speak about the story itself because I think contemporary fiction is best to go blindly into. However, I will praise Rainbow Rowell’s beautiful writing. One thing I, personally wasn’t a massive fan of (no pun intended) was the fanficton, it was entertaining but in some parts I thought it went on a bit too long. Save it for Carry On. Also, Serious question.. Is the Simon Snow series based off Harry Potter?

For every fan girl out there who loves to get passionate about books, TV shows or movies, who sometimes prefers the company of books to people, who easily gets excited by the world of fiction: this book is for you.

I think it’s great that so many people have written fanfiction for Fangirl!
Rainbow Rowell says “It’s mind-blowing actually, to think that I’ve made something that’s inspired people to tell their own stories or make their own art.”

She also said “I love look at the fan art. I have fan art up all over my office.” You can check out her fan art on her Pinterest or her Tumblr.

This one is my personal favourite but i can’t find the artist’s name 😦 This was also my favourite scene and whoever drew it has captured it perfectly.

cath-levi-snuggle

2 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

