The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

sin eaters daughter

Author: Melinda Salisbury
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Pages: 336, paperback
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy/ High Fantasy, Romance
Buy: The Sin Eater’s Daughter – Amazon

five-starsfive-starsfive-starsfive-stars

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.
Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girl she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some
truths should not be told…

First of all: what a beautiful cover!

The Sin Eater’s Daughter was a very enjoyable read but I have mixed feelings about it. This may be because I heard such great things about it and had such high expectations of it. I kept reading and waiting for something big to happen and it did, at the end. While I wasn’t blown away by this book, I still enjoyed it and I am anticipating the next book.

It tells the story of Twylla, Daunen Embodied – a daughter of a god who brings life and another that brings death. Twylla’s touch is “deadly” and her skin emits a poison that kills slowly. She is Lormere’s executioner. I thought it was a great concept but this book was heavily romance driven and there was a hint of a love triangle. Twylla is engaged to the prince but she doesn’t really want to be with him. Merek starts to fall for Twylla (even though they don’t spend much time together) but Twylla is so caught up in Lief, her guard. Lief is Tregellian (from a neighboring enemy kingdom), so he’s an outsider and can relate to Twylla well and he makes her question who she is – or who she has been told she is.

I found Lief quite annoying for the majority of this book, he speaks out of term and insults her at times and then later apologises about it. I also found it weird that he delivers messages to her and brings her food on a tray when he is only meant to be her guard. He seems overly comfortable around her, he just struts in the room when he likes and he’s always “grinning” and “teasing” and “winking” at Twylla.  Though, I did like that he didn’t fear her and he treated her like a human being instead of a goddess or, worse, a monster.

Obviously I couldn’t stand the queen. She was so incredibly vicious, cruel and power hungry.. The King didn’t seem too bad but we didn’t get to learn much about him. I really didn’t like Merek (the Prince) at first but then he grew on me and I started to understand him a bit more, I am excited to see what he does in the next book.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter is one of those books where you keep saying “just one more chapter” and you can’t stop reading until you’re forced to put the book down. The writingwas wonderful; smooth and flowing. I think the world-building is very well done – probably the best thing about this book.The mythology about the Gods is superb. I thought it was such a neat way to showcase how Lomere (the kingdom) came to be.

I thought the title of this book was odd because Twylla (aka the sin eaters daughter) doesn’t actually eat any sins at all. Quite frankly, I didn’t like the idea of sin eating. I just don’t understand the idea of a sin eater eating different foods for a dead person’s sins. So even though the title is slightly irrelevant, I for one am glad that Twylla isn’t a sin eater and it doesn’t show much of it.

I was shocked at the ending, to say the least. The plot twist was completely unpredictable, for me anyway. (that betrayal though) *cries*

Despite the utter shock and betrayal, I loved the ending but the wait for the next book is almost unbearable. I cannot wait to see what happens next. I hope it’s not too long of a wait!

give it to me gif

I’d like to know what you guys thought of this book too, leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

